Posted in Decorating Frenzy

Inexpensive Family Room Makeover

It has been a long time since I planned to get into blogging and after a lot of years, here it goes… my first post with photos included. So for the pilot episode (haha!) i decided to feature our home ( in Fujairah, UAE ) that i decorated back in 2005.

             I do not really like the blue sofa. Just got crazy  buying it

                when i felt the supple velvety texture when I touched it.

Chaotic day, fitting all the furniture in a narrow rectangular-shaped Family Room. The sudden rise of rent was to blame!  really!  

The Challenge begin…

 

 

*Found the rocking chair at the nearby Pre-owned Shop, looks very new. looking good, paired with the couch.

 I chose to add a personalized wall Art by taking  photos of my kid’s hands and cute feet. Purchased my 2$ frame at the local photo studio and lighting from IKEA.

A long  green curtain and the bamboo blinds  tied up with the color of the sofa and  carpet, and made the window seem bigger than it really is.

The wall border breaks the plain white wall.

A very lucky person that I am, I found some nice wood palette and used them as shelves. The carpet was a gift from a friend, which actually gave me the inspiration of the calming color that i used in the room.

Few more stuff to fill the shelves… The colored Glass balls are from IKEA.

I divided the room to make way for an Office space..

( Applying the solution for a rectangular shaped room.)

Added a floor lamp with task light, replaced my bulky computer table (by selling it at the Pre-owned shop). The mirrors  serve as  wall art and as you know, it helps to enlarge the room visually.

The blue sofa has a new look

The Finished Family Room… tadaaaa!!!


So there you go… My not-really-expensive  room Make-over.

Author:

Exploring life with my hubby and 5 kiddos. Loves to decorate, crafting, DIYs, Fashion, Makeup and anything fabulous. I find cooking and baking a good stress buster. I love to dance and sing with my only daughter. I do wish that cheesecakes are a low-calorie dessert or eat my favorite food to my heart's content without putting on weight. Fantasizing to have the power to freeze time to accommodate the things I wanted to do in a day. Still learning every day and growing with it.

Leave a Reply

