Posted in Best Bites

Happy Carrot Zucchini Apple Bread

During school days my mind is working incessantly from the moment I open my eyes in the morning til late of what snack/lunch the kids will bring to school. My second eldest son hardly eats veggies and the luckiest fruit has gotten a special entrance ID from his tongue is the banana, after a few years he allowed apple too. (rarely). That is why I was astonished to hear him asked me to buy some oranges. Of course, i did not waste a blink and darted away gladly. It’s already strange enough to make him like anything sour or citrusy, so if he was delirious when he said that, I don’t care this is a chance to grasp.

Due to the desperation of a Mom who must win against her son on a  veggie and fruit war, I had to cheat him.

I already tried banana and oatmeal bread and was a success but I have to be more assertive than that. So I looked up the web, analyzed and compared different recipes, melding the banana bread inspiration I came up with this. I admit I had a lot in mind to throw into this recipe but I grappled myself to limit them into these: ( I gave it a name with a “happy” word, you’ll know why)

                                     Happy Carrot Zucchini Apple Bread

  • 2 c all-purpose flour 
  •  2 large zucchini
  •  a handful of baby carrots (approx. 10-15) / 2 large carrots finely chopped or grated
  •  1  apple, cored and chopped coarsely
  •  1 egg
  • 1/3 c sugar ( used only 1/4 cup on my second time baking this)
  •  ¼ c honey
  • 1/3 c. unsweetened applesauce
  •  2 tbsp vegetable/canola oil
  • 1 tsp vanilla 
  •  1 ½ tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • ½ tsp ground ginger (or 1 tsp ginger powder)

Directions:

Peel chop and core apple set aside. Grate zucchini, and carrots (in the food processor or chopper). Place in a towel and squeeze out the excess water.  Combine the egg, vanilla, sugar, honey, **applesauce, oil ( I used canola Oil)  salt, grated fruits and veggies in a bowl. Stir in the flour, cinnamon, ginger and baking soda until well incorporated.

Grease pan with butter or cooking spray and dust with flour to prevent sticking. Scoop into muffin tins or loaf tin or 9x 13 baking pan. Bake for 25 minutes or until a toothpick inserted comes out clean.

I’m checking once in a while, I added 5 more mins. In a loaf tin while in a 9×13 pan the baking time is exactly 25 mins.

I added raisins, ( that’s why I cut the sugar due to raisins) chopped walnuts.

I pulled it out after 10 mins. in the oven, I forgot to mix in the raisins and nuts. Better late than never 😀

** I made my own applesauce.

  •  Peeled and chopped 3 apples then add water enough to almost cover the apples.
  • Mash the apples then sprinkle a tbsp cinnamon.

* Frosting:

In a mixing bowl, beat cream cheese (about 7 small square blocks ) with powdered sugar adding a tbsp at a time till you get your desired consistency. I added lemon and lime zest to contrast the sweetness and add some tartness to it.

my sweet little trick to a veggie aloof kid.

You may omit the frosting if you wish to, already fabulous as it is.

  As soon as my son arrives home from school, he said he finished all his food and he likes it. I told him it has veggie, but he just smiled.

I even bought it on my lunch date with my friends. I hope you’ll try it, tell me how it came out.

You may wanna check this out:

Author:

Exploring life with my hubby and 5 kiddos. Loves to decorate, crafting, DIYs, Fashion, Makeup and anything fabulous. I find cooking and baking a good stress buster. I love to dance and sing with my only daughter. I do wish that cheesecakes are a low-calorie dessert or eat my favorite food to my heart's content without putting on weight. Fantasizing to have the power to freeze time to accommodate the things I wanted to do in a day. Still learning every day and growing with it.

Leave a Reply

