Get to know Me

Chicken cheese Franks and Mushroom

It seems years had passed since my last post. I’ve been busy, super busy with a lot of things rushing ahead and caught me frozen. Yes, frozen! I’d chose to petrify myself and not do anything instead. I am actually browsing my Pinterest and stumble upon a food pic which really resembles the one I’m doing for so long now. What’s funny is that this morning I called a friend to ask about the dinner we’re going to prepare for the upcoming Youth for Christ Camp and I suggested if my old-time fool proofed dish is okay with her. Then this lovely popped out telling me I’m on the right track. The dish looks summery as the name suggests. I’m sure you too will love this.
Photo courtesy of http://www.skinnytaste.com. Visit this site for healthy and sumptuous dishes you’ll surely love. I adore her: D

I would definitely try this recipe this coming Saturday and leave her a comment on how it turned out. But for now, I’ll be sharing mine… same concept in an ala-slothful way.

You will need:
  • Chicken cheese Franks ( i often use this one) or sausage or Beef Franks
  • Chicken strips ( optional)
  • 1 big sweet onion (sliced in rings)
  • 1 can Mushroom pieces / fresh mushrooms
  • 3 tbsp. oyster sauce
  • 2 tbsp Worcestershire sauce
  • a sprinkle of sugar
  • 5 tbsp canola oil for frying (depending how much you will make)
  • pepper, paprika
How it’s done:

Not so complicated  ;D

 Slice the franks or sausage according to the size of your liking. pan fry the sausages/franks until you see a little browned edges. I usually like it that way.
(Put the chicken strips first before the sausage /franks til the juices run clear and strips are slightly browned. Remember to season the chicken with salt and pepper)
Stir in the mushrooms and the onion rings. Pour in the oyster sauce and Worcestershire sauce and mix well to distribute the taste evenly. Season with paprika, sugar, and pepper and you are done.

 

Originally, I came up with this dish one lazy breakfast morning for my little’ boys  (who are now teenagers) back in Fujairah, this has been a known mom-staple-dish for them. It never fails to see them eat like crazy having this anytime of the day. Be it paired with bread or rice.
This is the very basic I guess and from here you can be very inventive. It can also be modified to harmonize with your liking and preference just like the photo above .. Have fun making this.  

 

 

Leave a Comment